‘Walk With Me’ by Cardeno C #LGBT #AudioReview #Review #Audio

Bethany reviews the audio book ‘Walk With Me’ by Cardeno C.  Published by The Romance Authors February 7, 2015, 224 pgs.  The audio was released on August 28th, 2015, 6 hrs 40 mins.

Why I listened to this book:  It is reviewer’s choice and I adore Cardeno’s books so I thought I would listen to one that I have re-read so many times.

Purchased by the reviewer.

Walk With Me - Audio CoverWhen Eli Block steps into his parents’ living room and sees his childhood crush sitting on the couch, he starts a shameless campaign to seduce the young rabbi. Unfortunately, Seth Cohen barely remembers Eli and he resolutely shuts down all his advances. As a tenuous and then binding friendship forms between the two men, Eli must find a way to move past his unrequited love while still keeping his best friend in his life. Not an easy feat when the same person occupies both roles.

Professional, proper Seth is shocked by Eli’s brashness, overt sexuality, and easy defiance of societal norms. But he’s also drawn to the happy, funny, light-filled man. As their friendship deepens over the years, Seth watches Eli mature into a man he admires and respects. When Seth finds himself longing for what Eli had so easily offered, he has to decide whether he’s willing to veer from his safe life-plan to build a future with Eli.

 

Review

I love, love, love this series, but I think this one is my favorite for many reasons.  I think the number one reason is the religious aspect of the book, wait wait let me explain.  I am a christian so books about religion make me wary, but not this one and I think the reason it didn’t is because of one quote.  Eli’s dad says at the very beginning “Every human being is made in the image of God and he makes no mistakes.”  I have said basically the same thing, that my God makes each and every one of us and he doesn’t make mistakes.  This was when I knew this would be one book that I re-read, and re-read often.

The next reason is Eli.  Oh.Em.Gee I love him, he is hilarious and there were times I laughed so hard my kids gave me funny looks.  He is confident about who he is and I think a lot of that is his parents and how they raised him.  How they accepted him being gay and not let anyone tell him that is wrong.  He also knows what he wants and he goes after it, or I should say “him”, he wants Seth and he plans to get him.  Oh man some of the things he says to Seth, well lets just say they probably wouldn’t be suitable for work.  LOL

On to the next reason, Seth.  Seth is the calm to Eli’s storm, a wonderful balance of yin and yang.  I love how Seth had dated women, been in relationships with them, but when it came to Eli he questioned his feelings toward him.  But he did it graciously, not trying to convince himself he was straight and the feelings would pass.  He accepted he was bi and that he wanted Eli. End of story. Well not quite yet.

Which brings me to Eli and Seth.  Together.  Sigh….they were perfection for me and not just as a couple.  But the years leading up to them FINALLY coming together.  The friendship they build while Eli grows up was a wonderful building block for when they were both on the same page when it came to their relationship.  And when the do finally get to the relationship part its, magical, at least it was for me.

Now my last reason, though this is an added reason because its an audio book.  The narration.  The narration of an audio book can make or break a book for me.  I can LOVE a book but when I listened to it, the narration can make me cringe and not be able to listen to it.  Then there are those that you love the book and try the audio and BAM its a double whammy, the ebook (paperback) is a favorite of yours and you try the audio.  And well, its magnificent.  This was the latter of those for me.

This book was fabulous, a brilliant addition to the ‘Home’ series, though part of a series can be read as a standalone.  BUT that said I do recommend reading the whole series, not because you need to in order to understand the other books in the series.  No I recommend reading it because they are all perfection.  I don’t think Cardeno C knows how to write a bad book.

pot-of-gold-10special

Where to buy: Amazon ~ Audible

  AuthorBioCardeno C. – CC to friends – is a hopeless romantic who wants to add a lot of happiness and a few “awwws” into a reader’s day. Writing is a nice break from real life as a corporate type and volunteer work with gay rights organizations. Cardeno’s stories range from sweet to intense, contemporary to paranormal, long to short, but they always include strong relationships and walks into the happily-ever-after sunset.

Heartwarming Stories. Strong Relationships. Forever Love.

Website: www.cardenoc.com

Blog: (Shared Blog) http://caferisque.blogspot.com/

Twitter: @CardenoC

FB Profile: http://www.facebook.com/CardenoC

FB Group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/Carde…

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCX6M…

Pinterest: http://www.pinterest.com/cardenoC/

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.